one day at a time

So, I’ve officially completed two weeks in college..wow, time does fly by.

Do, I like it? Not really. Should I be worried about it? well..

I come from a country where English is not the official language, but the link language. It was my grandma, who made sure that the English language was give prominence within the household and that her granddaughter would have an education in the English medium.

Thanks to her, the sword (a colloquial alternative for the”English language” in Sri Lanka) has definitely taken me to places where I could have never gone without it, the Harvard Model UN simulation was one.

So, with all that history about my boring family, here I was, confused and lost in the campus, because nothing is indicated in English, wondering what did I get my self into by enrolling for a degree that is entirely taught in Italian.

I might sound delusional, but I’m begin optimistic and pessimistic the same time. Grandma would always say, to take one day at a time. 

So, I’m just going to do that, trusting in the Lord to help me get through. Times might be bleak, but there is light at the end of the tunnel and my wise granny always said that and she was right.

This is for you grandma.. my first teacher, my mentor, my role model…

Author: romelga

Just an ordinary South Asian girl, living in Europe. I enjoy reading and love all forms of art. "You don't need to be talented to appreciate talent"

Leave a Reply

