The ugly F

Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks

PIC 1

There are times when I wonder if only I could go back to my early teens, a time when everyone said I had the gift of gab.

Well, as years passed, I began to recede back to my shell due to my self-conscious, perfectionism and occasionally naïve nature. I can’t really blame myself, it was a phase.

After that, for a very long time I was a reserved and introverted person, and that in return made me talk less, express my opinions less, and as a result, made what once was my favorite thing a nightmare.

I was petrified of speaking to a microphone whilst standing in front of an audience. I was scared I’ll make a mistake, scared I’ll sound nervous and all these preconceived notions would haunt me whenever I had to speak in front of a crowd. The thing that scared me the most was the idea of someone in the audience laughing at me if I made a mistake.

So when it came to addressing groups of people, I conveniently avoided the ones I couldn’t handle and took on the ones I could with nervousness hidden behind a big bright smile.

Nevertheless, I’ve been working on my shortcomings and there’s definitely been an improvement, because the only way we can overcome our greatest fear is to face it.

After all, it’s only false evidence appearing real.

Author: romelga

Just an ordinary South Asian girl, living in Europe. I enjoy reading and love all forms of art. "You don't need to be talented to appreciate talent"

8 thoughts on “The ugly F”

  1. My husband says the same thing. He was an outgoing joker through his teens and then turned inward in college. I think the more experiences and memories we accumulate, the more apt we are to fear people and their responses. Then we get to a certain age (middle age for me) and realize that fear is stupid, and start retraining our minds. At least, that’s what I am trying to do

Leave a Reply

